Different Hugs, Different Stories

We had gone to the flea market last weekend. We meaning myself and Sujoy’s cousin and her family. Sujoy was busy watching a live soccer match at Gillette Stadium that day which I confidently told everyone that it was a El-Clasico match 😛 More details about that sometime later!

Flea Market

The Women in Blue at the Flea Market!

So we reached this flea market and Sudeep da dropped us at the venue and went ahead to park his car. Paula di, Riya and I were wandering through the stalls. It was a while till Sudeep da found a parking in the always busy Boston Downtown. When he returned , Riya who is 9 years old ran towards him and hugged him! It was as if they were meeting after a long time though it was just 15 minutes. Ah! That pure moment of proximity between two individuals who really love one another and expect nothing in return! Such a simple gesture and yet so comforting.

Riya’s spontaneous hug got me thinking – How often do we hug?

It also brought back memories of some treasured hugs in my life.

The Bidai Hug

The last of the ceremonies in an Indian marriage is the bidai (farewell), where the bride’s side give a farewell to the bride. It is a very emotional moment for the bride’s side.  After the bidai, the bride and the groom leave for the groom’s place leaving behind ‘us’.

Hug

Can you feel that overwhelming love?

I remembered mine. Almost all of us were teary eyed. During my bidai, I hugged my father so tightly that I didn’t want to let him go. It was two human beings who love each other unconditionally just being in the moment, expressing their love through actions and no words. Two human beings who share the deepest of love, care, and affection. It was such a pure unadulterated moment, only heartfelt endearment. Tears rolling from both our eyes and we didn’t care who was around us. It was just us in the moment! I still shudder from thinking about that time! #Goosebumps

The Soul Sister Hug

Hug

Hugging! ❤

Last year during my India trip I finally met my soul sister Shweta. We had been working together virtually for almost 2 years and this was the first time I met her. We had been to Mumbai for some official work and were staying together. It was kind of my girl night out endeavour which I have done very rarely in my teens. And one of those evenings, we just let out all that was bothering us. We spoke for hours and hours pouring out the darkest of our secrets and the side of your life you don’t share on FB. And at the end of it all, we hugged. Hugged to reassure that we are there for each other. Hugged to communicate how much we love each other. Hugged to feel that soul sister connect!

My soul sister needs a hug right now and here is one I am sending out to her!

The Tree Hug

Tree Hug

Therapeutic!

I have hugged a tree too! It is so damn therapeutic. No judgement, no false pretenses just sacred bond. Hugging a tree connects you to mother earth too with the tree roots. Try doing it and see how you open up from within. I love hugging trees, usually the ones with giant trunks. Boston is full of huge tree trails and I never miss a chance to hug those trees on the way.

I am a hugger. Always have been. I believe a tight hug can make you forget all the shit in your life at least for 30 seconds. And with my energy work now, I can pick up on people’s energies and sense who might need a hug. I don’t always hug that person but send some healing energy their way!

A small hug made me visit all these stories yet again.

What is your hug story? How often do you hug? Do let me know in comments below 🙂

Featured Image

 

Leave a Reply

