A Recap on Forgiveness and My WORD for 2017!

As many of you know I choose a word every year since 2015. The whole idea of choosing a word instead of some 10 new year resolutions is being true to yourself and sticking to this one singular goal. This one word represents who you want to be and how you want to live.

My word for 2016 was ‘Forgiveness’ and here are some lessons I learnt in my journey so far –

  1. Forgiveness is not a cake walk. It is a difficult job. Rage and revenge surge within you and it is difficult to keep those strong feelings aside and forgive someone.
  2. Forgiveness is not for ‘them’ but rather for ‘you’. It does not matter if the other person does not accept your sorry or doesn’t respect your forgiveness. What matters is how light you feel after shedding off those extreme negative feelings from within you.
  3. Saying sorry is as important as forgiving someone. Don’t let your ego play with your mind. Own up your mistake and say sorry.
  4. Forgiveness doesn’t mean you are weak, it actually makes you the bigger person!

I continue with my forgiveness and gratitude journey. And I have been thinking hard about the word for this year. It took some time to choose, but nevertheless I am happy that I chose this word for 2017.

So, my word for 2017 isMindfulness‘!

Why I chose this word? With the advent of the smartphone and the fast paced life, we have stopped being in the present and almost forgotten to enjoy the current moment. We are running after a mirage, wanting something more or thinking that we will be happy in the future. Well, I want to break that chain. I want to be mindful of the present moment, of what I am doing currently and be focused. I don’t want my hands to go involuntarily to my mobile phone while watching the movie or be thinking about my upcoming Toastmasters speech while I am cooking. I want to be mindful of what I am eating and not just have my food half heartedly. I don’t want to worry about the pending action items while I am enjoying my coffee.

In simple words, I want to be mindful of everything I do right from brushing my teeth to researching for my next article.

I want to be here, in the present! I want to be mindful in 2017!

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

